Faculty and Staff

Teacher of the Year

Spartanburg School District 4 participates in the South Carolina State Department of Education's Teacher of the Year program.  Each year, the district's four schools select a Teacher of the Year.  The district Teacher of the Year is then selected from the schools' Teacher of the Year candidates through an interview process. 


Brian Wofford was selected as Teacher of the Year at Woodruff Middle School.  Mr. Wofford is in his 11th year in Spartanburg District 4.  He taught sixth grade science and math for his first three years at Woodruff Middle School.  He currently teaches sixth grade science.  Holding degress from, Spartanburg Methodist College, Clemson University, and Converse College, Mr. Wofford is certified in Elementary Education, Middle School Science, and Middle School Math.  He also has Gifted and Talented Endorsement and Global Career Development Facilitator Credential; he will soon begin work to obtain the English for Speakers of Other Languages certificate through USC Upstate.  Mr. Wofford's favorite part of teaching is trying to meet students where they are and providing opportunities to reach their full potential in life.  He says, “Students need to know that they are special, they are loved, and that they do have unique  gifts and talents that they can contribute to the world they live in.”  Mr. Wofford enjoys spending time with his family, serving at his church, and watching college sports.

National Board Certification is an advanced teaching credential achieved upon successful completion of a voluntary assessment program designed to recognize effective and accomplished teachers who meet high standards based on what teachers should know and be able to do.  As part of the certification process, candidates complete 10 assessments that are reviewed by trained teachers in their certificate areas. The assessments include four portfolio entries that feature teaching practice and six constructed response exercises that assess content knowledge.   Woodruff Middle School has eight National Board Certified faculty members, including Ashley Bennett, Cassandra Barksdale, Jami Guker, Tammy Linder, Mary Runyans, Chad Shaver, Mandy Shaver, and Selena Turnipseed.

Science Teachers

Giada Parris, Mary Runyans, Brian Wofford

 Meredith Ard, Gail High, Mandy Shaver


Social Studies Teachers

Daniel Westmoreland, Paul Gilliam, Ty Skinner

Stephanie Harrison, Gail High

social studies


Math Teachers

Amber Watts, Grant Ramsey, Ashley Bennett, Mandy Shaver
Giada Parris, Jami Guker, Cassandra Barksdale, Staci Howard, Cindy Bennet


English/Language Arts Teachers

Julia Kitchens, Amber Lee, Stephanie Harrison, Lynn Richardson

Allison Williams, Jennifer Smith, Suzanne McConnell, Sharon West



Trail Guide Teachers

Amy Hiott, Tammy Linder, Connie Smith, Wanda Brown, Melanie Williams

trail guides

Encore Teachers

Adrian Mosley, Mike Stokes, Duane Thompson, Bryan McConnell

Tonja Westmoreland, Carolyn Huckeba, Dylan Sims, Emily Wireman,  Wendie Lawson      encore